RSS Feed

Dudley O’Shaughnessy : Model Profile

Dudley may not be the biggest model the world, but as said by Models.com, he is definitely ‘One to Watch.’  With a stunning facial structure, a great physique and a striking pair of eyes, the London born model who stands at 6 feet tall, is in the running to become something greater than he probably thinks. Signed with NEXT Model Management in London, Dudley, like another Rob Evans of the model world, is an Olympic boxer, and has thus far been quite successful in his sporting career. No stranger to London Fashion Week, Dudley has walked for Jean-Pierre Braganza, as well as for Courtney Mc at the Royal College of Art Masters show. Appearing in a spread with David Gandy, he has also been a face for Stone Island and Fred Perry. Gladly, I got the opportunity to chat with Dudley about his pass successes, and also his future to come. With his first words being, “Your blog is wicked!” I was more than appreciative of his humble character, charming demeanor and fun personality.

So Dudley, when did you start modelling?

Well when I got scouted I didn’t really start since I was very shy and timid and had my eye more on the boxing scene, but slowly I got into it and started properly around mid 2009.

Did you have any interest whatsoever in fashion before you began?

[Laughs]I didn’t even know what fashion was! None what so ever, all I knew about was tracksuits.

[Laughs] So how do you manage both modelling and boxing?

Starting modelling kinda helped me in the boxing ring as I used to just stand in the centre of the ring & have a war, and end up coming out with a face the colour of a rainbow, so over time I realised that this wasn’t really a good game plan so I learned to not be hit, and it worked. If I’m in a championship then I have to train like everyday so boxing comes first and I don’t really model as much.

What was it like being in a spread with the ‘iconic’ David Gandy?

Yeah it was sick (in a good way) not like you get to be on the same shoot as a supermodel everyday, or even in your entire career.

Do you think that the world of fashion has taught you anything that you can apply to your everyday life?

Yeah, never judge a book by it’s cover. No matter how crazy you think they look or seem, they’re most probably one of the coolest people you’ll ever meet.

Now that you have a bit more ‘fashion sense’ [Laughs] what would your ideal summer outfit be?

Summer? Whats that, [Laughs] well in England we just have rain & grey skies. A pair of Nike blazers, Levi’s denim Shorts, Givenchy Tee, Vivienne Westwood neckless, Links of London bracelet, super bowl ring. Casual…the loudest one in the room is the weakest!

Interesting!

So, do you do anything special to prepare for an upcoming shoot?

Not really, I just try to go to bed early and plan my journey the night before so I can just get ready and go in the morning and go!

What do you like best about being a model?

The people, I’ve met some amazing lifetime friends through the industry and I’ve got memories that will last forever. Oh and the food [Laughs]

Food!? [Haha] I too think that meeting people is the best part. Is there any model in particular that you’d like to work with?

I would love to do a shoot with all my good pals that I’ve met through the industry, that would be amazing. Jeremy Boateng, Jason Dax, Guetan Elito, Jamel Gordon Lynch, Chuku Modu, Josh Hawkins, Xulin Liu, Tomo Kuata, Fletcher Harrington, Conrad Leadley, Hary Uzoka, Abiah Hostvedt, Jeremy Luke Edwards, Robbert Gatoyne, Jason Anthony, Jacob Pinder, Andre Kinghorn, Ryan Pickard, Alex Bennet, Alexander Prinz, Zachary King, There’s prob a few missed out [Haha]

Wow! What a list! Now, what about photographers, do you have a favorite?

Nick Griffiths is my favourite, wouldn’t mind working with Alasdaie McLellan, or Mert Alas and Marcus Piggott.

Mert & Marcus are amazing!

What else, apart from boxing and modelling do you look forward to pursuing in the future?

Acting, I’ve only just started and it’s going really well, filming my second short film in Germany at the moment so hopefully things go well and something big happens.

Great! Germany also sounds good, what other countries have you visited on modelling jobs?

Nigeria, Milan, Paris and Denmark.

On the other hand, what countries do you dream of going to?

United States of America!

Nice! Now last question [Haha]

If your house was on fire, and you could only grab three things, what would they be?

My cat, picture board and my little black book.

Little black book sounds spooky! Lol anyway guys, I hope you enjoyed my amazing interview with Dudley and we definitely look forward to seeing more of this amazing model soon… Check out his photo-strip below.

About Barrio Dimitri

Hey there! I'm Barrio Dimitri. If you'd like contact me with any queries or ideas, please send an email to modedimitri@gmail.com

7 responses »

  1. he is usual and quite stunning… hope to see more of him in fashion

  2. he is unusual…lol very unique

  3. I’m such a big fan of Dudley and his stunning face. Good of you to highlight him.

  4. Thank You so much Khalil, I think he has a great future ahead of him.

  5. WOW, NICE. So looks like they’re hiding all the fresh faces in London. Unusual is quite right, Adrian. Go DUDLEY!!!!!!!!

  6. Pingback: La Mode Top 5 | August 2011 « La Mode Dimitri

Leave a Reply

